Comin’ back to Seattle (Go Hawks!) Part 1: Pike Place Market

My wife and I decided to go to Seattle for a mini vacation. She has never been, and I have wanted to show her around. We picked a great time to go because the weather was great (for the most part). I do have to admit that Seattle is one of the most beautiful cities that I’ve had the pleasure of experiencing. My heart will always be in Los Angeles, but my stomach will happily oblige to dine in Seattle.

It was five days of Seattle for us! I’m glad I get a chance to share with you some of the things that were seen and eaten!

I don’t think a trip to Seattle isn’t complete without a visit to Pike Place Market, which is the oldest farmer’s market in the United States. Sure it’s the ultra-touristy thing to do, but I did come back to Seattle, but I came back as a tourist this time. Pike-Place-Walkthrough

As you’ll see, we were greeted by a bright sun and blue skies…

Public-Market-Sign

This is where all the flying fish on TV come from.

Pike-Place-Fish-Market

We didn’t just come to Pike Place Market for the sights. We headed over to Beecher’s cheese for some of their absolutely awesome mac n cheese. It’s so good, they called it the “World’s Best” Mac N Cheese. That’s a mighty high claim, but I’ll have to concede that it definitely doesn’t disappoint. The cheese is rich and gooey. Beecher’s also serves up their Flagship, which is one of my favorite cuts of cheese. On rare occasion, I would spot some Flagship being served up in a Whole Foods Market. If you see it, grab it. You’ll be happy you did.

Beecher's-Mac-N-Cheese

Piroshky Piroshky was featured on Anthony Bourdain’s show. We grabbed a smoked salmon pate filled piroshky (pictured) and a beef filled piroshky. The salmon one was great, but the beef one was too salty. Do yourself a favor and order ahead like the bag says. It’s good food, but not worth the crazy wait. Next door (or a few doors down, I don’t remember) there was a German deli. I didn’t take any pictures of it, but it seemed to be filled with some great German fare. I’ll have to visit them next time. Maybe, you should too!

Piroshky.jpg

There’s a big flower section within the market. Some amazing colors and compositions to be seen.
Pike-Place-Bouquet.jpgPike-Place-Tulips.jpgSeafood-Collection.jpgFresh-King-Salmon.jpg

Some grilled salmon sounds good right about now…

Gum-Wall.jpgOf course it’s right after seeing food.

Blue skies turned to grey really quickly. At least it didn’t rain.Public-Market-Gloom.jpg

Next up…

We go to Un Bien!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

